The Bar Convent is an architectural gem: housed in fine Grade 1 listed 18th century Georgian buildings, on the site of the original house purchased in 1686 by Frances Bedingfield.
Changes in the building over the centuries have reflected the changing needs of the community and its work: the 18th century rebuild created the beautiful neo-classical Chapel; accommodation for the school and Community; and the iconic frontage. 19th century alterations added a glass roof over the central court and the stunning Maw tiled floor; kitchens; and a Day School for local children.
The Living Heritage Project will make the Convent much more accessible and welcoming for 21st century visitors and users, in harmony with The Bar Convent's distinctive and much-loved interiors.
The Living Heritage Project will transform the telling of The Bar Convent's histories in two floors of intriguing, inspirational exhibition displays.
Exhibition and Hidden Chapel Reopening September 1
Fundraising Update: £1.7m raised to date